The Secretary of State also deals with the organization and administration of the Office of the Custodian of Enemy Property. The Civil Service Commission, the Department of Public Printing and Stationery and the Chief Electoral Officer are under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State, but each of the three Civil Service Commissioners, the Queen's Printer and the Chief Electoral Officer has the rank of Deputy Minister.

The Department of the Secretary of State deals with correspondence concerning the Copyright Appeal Board, the Awards Co-ordination Committee, the Public Records Committee and the Inter-departmental Committee on the use of Parliament Hill. The Special Division deals with domestic protocol, government hospitality and related matters.

Department of Trade and Commerce.—The Department of Trade and Commerce was established by Act of Parliament on June 23, 1887, but did not function until Dec. 5, 1892, when an Order in Council to this effect was passed. Prior to its creation, assistance in the development of Canada's foreign trade was provided by five Canadian Commercial Agents, who served on a part-time basis and were responsible to the Minister of Finance. On Jan. 1, 1895, a Canadian Commercial Agent was appointed at Sydney, Australia, on a full-time basis. He thus became the first Canadian Government Trade Commissioner, in the present meaning of the term.

The Canadian Commercial Agency Service was renamed the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service in 1907, as the term agent created the impression that an officer so designated had something to buy or sell. Officers devoting all their time to the promotion of Canadian trade, and on salary, were thus termed Canadian Trade Commissioners, while those receiving an honorarium were still known as Commercial Agents. The following year, the position of Superintendent of Commercial Agencies was abolished, and a Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce was appointed on Aug. 1, 1908. Forty-nine offices in 41 countries were maintained in 1953. In addition to trade commissioners and assistant trade commissioners, the foreign service officers included nine agricultural specialists, three fisheries specialists and one timber specialist. Where trade commissioners are members of a mission maintained by the Department of External Affairs, they are given diplomatic status and are known as Commercial Counsellors or Commercial Secretaries.

The Department of Trade and Commerce was expanded in 1945 to provide a wide range of additional services to Canadian businessmen, and now comprises the following Branches and Divisions: Canadian Trade Commissioner Service, Commodities Branch, Agriculture and Fisheries Branch, International Trade Relations Branch, Canadian Government Exhibition Commission, International Economic and Technical Co-operation Division (responsible for administration of the Colombo Plan), Information Branch, Industrial Development Division, Standards Branch and Economics Branch.

The following boards, commissions, Crown companies and agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce: Atomic Energy Control Board, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Board of Grain Commissioners, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, Canadian Wheat Board, Export Credits Insurance Corporation, National Research Council and Trans-Canada Air Lines.

The Department of Transport.—The Department of Transport was created on Nov. 2, 1936, from the former Department of Marine, Railways and Canals and the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence.

The work of the Department consists of four main Services: Marine, Air, Canals and Railways. The work of the Marine Service includes aids to navigation, nautical and pilotage services, marine agencies, steamship inspection and floating equipment and direct supervision over 300 public harbours; seven other harbours come under supervision of the Department but are administered by Commissions. Air Services cover the operation of civil aviation, meteorological and telecommunication divisions. The latter includes the administration and regulation of radar, radio marine and radio aeronautical aids to navigation and communication by wire and by government telegraph and telephone. The Canal Service has jurisdiction over the canals and canalized waterways of Canada. These include the main or primary canals on the St. Lawrence River and Great Lakes and a number of subsidiary or secondary canals.

Other services of the Department are in connection with the Government-owned companies: the Canadian National Railways, Hudson Bay Railway, Canadian Government Railway, Canadian National (West Indies) Steamship Service and the Prince Edward Island Ferry and Terminals.

The Minister of Transport is responsible to Parliament for the following boards and commissions: the Air Transport Board; Board of Transport Commissioners; Canadian Maritime Commission; Steamship Inspection Board; National Harbours Board; Park Steamship Company Limited; and Canadian National Railway Securities Trust. The Minister is responsible to Parliament for the Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation. The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport. (See Appendix).